Careless Driving NJ
Careless Driving in New Jersey is a 2 point violation. New Jersey penalty statute for Careless Driving is N.J.S.A. 39:4-104. Contact a New Jersey traffic lawyer if you received a careless driving ticket.
NJ Careless Driving Statute
N.J.S.A. 39:4–97. Careless driving
A person who drives a vehicle carelessly, or without due caution and circumspection, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property, shall be guilty of careless driving.
Amended 1951,c.23,s.54; 1955,c.220,s.2; 1995,c.70,s.3.
NJ Careless Driving Penalty Statute
N.J.S.A. 39:4-104. Violations of article; penalty
A person violating a section of this article shall, for each violation, be subject to a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $200.00, or imprisonment for a period not exceeding 15 days, or both, except as herein otherwise provided.
Amended by L. 1955, c. 221, p. 869, § 1; L. 1982, c. 45, § 4, eff. Sept. 1, 1982.